Our RV Camping Reviews

Check this page for our RV camping reviews (from parks to boondocking), organized by state/province. We’ve added a ★ to the ones that really impressed us. For places we’ve stayed with our Harvest Hosts membership, we put the location and type of host, so other members can search for it. Happy Trails!

United States

Connecticut

Harvest Host (Farm) – Bethlehem, CT: Stayed June 2017. Quiet location on a farm near a playground, pond and goats! The farm store was wonderful and had many delicious options.
Harvest Host (Farm) – Glastonbury, CT: Stayed June 2017. Spot is next to blueberries and probably best for smaller RVs. Definitely go to Sunday brunch if you can – so yummy!

Florida

Kathryn Abbey Hanna Park – Jacksonville, FL: Stayed May 2017. Shaded and near the beach – definitely a win in Florida. Lots of biking trails, too.
Tallahassee RV Park – Tallahassee, FL: Stayed May 2017. Spaces were a bit tight, but park was well-maintained and staff was nice. This was a last-minute stop for us because it was too hot to crash in a parking lot.

For ideas on what to do in the area, check out our Florida blog posts.

Georgia

Harvest Host (Winery) – Hiawassee, GA: Stayed June 2017. Beautiful winery near the Blue Ridge Parkway. We loved watching the sunset from the porch.
Country Oaks RV Park – Kingsland, GA: Stayed May 2017. No shade in the spot we had, although some seemed to have more. Also would have liked to have more trail options, but park was nice overall.

For ideas on what to do in the area, check out our Georgia blog posts.

Indiana

Elkhart Campground – Elkhart, IN : Stayed September 2017.

Louisiana

Harvest Host (Brewery) – Arnaudville, LA: Stayed May 2017. Best beer I’ve ever had! The coffee beer is my new favorite. And we loved talking to the brewmaster. He gave us lots of tips for exploring the local area. Although, the overnight spot was near a road and a bit noisy, more so due to some Whip-poor-wills nearby.

Maine

Forest Road 752 – White Mountain National Forest – Bethel, ME: Stayed June 2017. No signal, almost creepy silence, no fee – what more can you ask of a boondocking site? The views on the drive up were great, too! However, the bugs in the summer were out in full force.
★ Harvest Host (Brewery) – Boothbay, ME: Stayed June 2017. Best meal we’ve had in a while and we even got to chat with the owners and staff over a bonfire. Great food, beer and people! They even have a mini RV park in addition to one small Harvest Host spot.
Harvest Host (Winery) – Union, ME: Stayed June 2017. We parked across from the winery in a gravel area. Not the most scenic location, but nothing to complain about either!
★ Harvest Host (Winery) – Unity, ME: Stayed June 2017. This YOUnique winery is inside the home of one of the most passionate people you will ever meet, and there is a big driveway with amazing views to park for the night. The owner really spoiled us with a tour, tasting and his great company. Best experience we’ve ever had at a winery!
Walmart – Lamoine, ME: Stayed June 2017. Not very noisy and got us close enough to snag a good spot at the first-come Bar Harbor Campground the next day.
★ Bar Harbor Campground – Bar Harbor, ME: Stayed June 2017. No reservations and cash only. But, the views are great and it is conveniently located on the free shuttle route which will take you to the beautiful Acadia National Park and downtown Bar Harbor. We also met some of our favorite RV neighbors here, the Chatwins!
Walmart – Bangor, ME: Stayed July 2017. Typical parking lot experience.

For ideas on what to do in the area, check out our Maine blog posts.

Michigan

Harvest Host (Farm) – Charlotte, MI : Stayed September 2017.

Mississippi

Sun Roamers RV Resort – Picayune, MS: Stayed May 2017. Big pool. Bigger crowds. Apparently, this was the go-to weekend spot for the town. But, it was okay for a night.

New Hampshire

Newfound RV Park – Bristol, NH: Stayed June 2017. This is one we will probably go back to. Reasonable weekday prices and close to lots of activities!

New Mexico

★ Caballo Lake RV Park – Caballo, NM: Stayed April 2017. A favorite of ours! The owner CJ takes great pride in her park and it is well-maintained with larger sites. There are also great views and a nightly happy hour put on by the hilarious CJ!
★ Camp Washington Ranch – Carlsbad, NM: Stayed April 2017. This is a small campsite – only room for 3 smaller rigs. But, wow! The views are amazing here and the fee goes toward the non-profit that owns the land. Read more in our blog post about our night there.
★ Cochiti Lake Area COE – Cochiti Lake, NM: Stayed May 2017. A wonderfully designed park near Tent Rocks National Monument. It also has hiking trails around the lake and to the top of the dam.
Datil Well Campground – Datil, NM: Stayed May 2017. Nice forest camping a little passed the Very Large Array in middle-of-nowhere, New Mexico. We got there at night after visiting the VLA and, luckily, the spaces were easy to get into and spaced out nicely.
★ The Ranch (SKP) – Lakewood, NM: Stayed April 2017. Great park with even better people! As Escapees members, we received an intro rate of $50 for one week. It was the perfect place to rest for a few days after exploring the Carlsbad area of New Mexico. And we got lots of hugs, free food and advice.
★ Fort Stanton – Snowy River NCA (Lincoln National Forest) – Lincoln, NM: Stayed April 2017. Beautiful dry camping option in Lincoln National Forest. Close to hiking and biking trails, plus lots of historic places. The road in is a bit rough though.
Bandelier National Monument – Juniper Campground – Los Alamos, NM: Stayed May 2017. Great option if you want to walk into the park or take the shuttle. It got a little crowded and noisy on the weekend (mainly kids screaming), but still a beautiful spot near a must-see destination.
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort & Spa RV Park – Ojo Caliente, NM: Stayed May 2017. RV park was pretty simple, but it gave us great access to the spa which was a highlight of our New Mexico trip. It was great to wander through the woods to our rig after a night of soaking. There are also lots of hiking and biking trails on the property.
Harvest Host (Winery) – Placitas, NM: Stayed May 2017. Somewhat small spot, but quiet and in a beautiful neighborhood of adobe houses. Wine was yummy as well – especially the cranberry!
★ Desert Boondocking Spot – San Antonio, NM: Stayed May 2017. Our first real boondocking adventure led us here. It is close to the Bosque de Apache Wildlife Reserve and a quiet place to sleep when traveling through New Mexico. Just watch out for rattlers.
Black Canyon Campground – Santa Fe, NM: Stayed May 2017. Beautiful area outside Santa Fe near hiking trails. But, don’t expect to get any work done here – there is no signal whatsoever.
Trailer Ranch RV Resort & RV Park – Santa Fe, NM: Stayed May 2017. This park put us walking distance to Meow Wolf (our goal for the visit and must-see). It was also near some biking trails and bus routes that went downtown as well. Well-kept with good amenities – we did some much needed laundry!
Rodeo de Santa Fe – Santa Fe, NM: Stayed May 2017. A cheaper option outside the city that included hookups. Just know you will hear the livestock all night.
Harvest Host (Winery) – Tularosa, NM: Stayed April 2017. Beautiful vineyard close to White Sands National Monument. Wine was inexpensive and the staff was lovely!

For ideas on what to do in the area, check out our New Mexico blog posts.

New York

Harvest Host (Farm) – Kerhonkson, NY: Stayed June 2017. We were told to park over near the road which wasn’t ideal and the farm store seemed a little less-than fresh, but yay for free camping! Just not one we will visit again.

North Carolina

Lake Powhatan Recreation Area – Asheville, NC: Stayed June 2017. This park seemed very unorganized for check-in and check-out, staff couldn’t seem to tell us what was available over the phone, so we ended up just going and that made it a little easier. But, it had some great biking trails as well as a swim “beach.” It also provides access to the nearby North Carolina Arboretum.
Ralph J Andrews Campground – Glenville, NC: Stayed June 2017. Had to drive up a mountain to get to this one, but the views were great. Sites were really unlevel, but otherwise it was a nice park overlooking a lake.
Harvest Host (Winery) – Laurel Springs, NC: Stayed June 2017. Slept next to a relaxing stream after trying some yummy wines. Plus, we met the resident pup!
Walmart – Pisgah Forest, NC: Stayed June 2017. Walmart was not 24/7, so it was the quietest one we’ve slept at. There was a no parking sign, but management gave us the okay.
Harvest Host (Winery) – Shelby, NC: Stayed June 2017. We got here in time to enjoy some live music while we sipped our wine. However, there was no shade, so it got miserably hot at night – definitely a better fall option.

For ideas on what to do in the area, check out our North Carolina blog posts.

Pennsylvania

Cabela’s – Hamburg, PA: Stayed June 2017. They welcome RVers and we had an area of the parking lot all to ourselves. Noise wasn’t too bad and there was even water if we needed it (just went in and asked for the code).

South Carolina

★ Harvest Host (Farm) – Long Creek, SC: Stayed May 2017. Gorgeous, like breathtakingly gorgeous views! Plus, great booze, food and farm fun (disc golf, u-pick berries, chickens). We also got to chat with the wonderful owners and they are amazing people!
★ Lake Greenwood State Park – Ninety Six, SC: Stayed May 2017. Beautiful location on the water. The ranger was extremely helpful when we got there last minute as well.
Keowee-Toxaway State Park – Pickens, SC: Stayed June 2017. Great for the price and convenient to many parks nearby. We didn’t do much exploring of the campground because this was a quick stop for us.
Table Rock State Park – Pickens, SC: Stayed June 2017. The campground is way up the mountain! Quite a trek to get down to the beach, but we saw a black bear with its baby, so no complaints! However, there was another campground closer to the entrance we would suggest for easier access. Canoeing here also made for a fun day and there are lots of hiking options!
Harvest Host (Café) – Pumpkintown, SC: Stayed June 2017. Tons of road noise and felt kind of exposed in front of the store. But, nicest people and delicious coffee drinks!

For ideas on what to do in the area, check out our South Carolina blog posts.

Texas

★ Harvest Host (Winery) – Canyon, TX: Stayed May 2017. Loved the canyon views and delicious wine. Owner was a sweetheart, too! He invited us to join him for delicious coffee the next morning.
Braunig Lake RV Resort – Elmendorf, TX: Stayed April 2017. More of a reservoir than a lake – no swimming and not scenic. A cheaper option outside of San Antonio, but nothing special.
★ Harvest Host (Winery) – Fredricksburg, TX: Stayed April 2017. Wonderful wine and fantastic views! This will be a stop every time we are nearby.
★ By the River Campground – Ingram, TX: Stayed March 2017. We loved this place! It was fairly priced for the views and easy access to trails – also close to wine country! Next time we are definitely bringing some kayaks though, it was a shame to not get on the water (found out later that they do rent them). Read more in our blog post about our week there.
Buckhorn Lake RV Resort – Kerrville, TX: Stayed March 2017. This is where our RV dealer set us up for our first night. It was a beautiful park and we loved soaking in the hot tub. However, it is very close to the highway, so not very scenic outside the park gates.
Walmart – Kerrville, TX: Stayed March 2017. Noisy and somewhat sketchy, but no one bothered us and they don’t seem to mind RVs.
Landa RV & Campground – New Braunfels, TX: Stayed April 2017. Noisy and over-priced. We were basically under a train track and the train came about every two hours all night and day. Never again! It does put you right at water access for tubing, but not worth it in our opinion.
Walmart – Odessa, TX: Stayed April 2017. Not in a great area, but there was a security guy patrolling which made us feel better.
Harvest Host (Winery) – Plantersville, TX: Stayed May 2017. Beautiful area and very nice staff. It was pretty quiet at night as well.
Travelers World RV Resort – San Antonio, TX: Stayed May 2017. It doesn’t look like much from the outside, but this is a pretty park with a nice pool. It is also close to many downtown San Antonio trails and activities, including the Missions.
Pecan Park Campground – San Marcos, TX: Stayed April 2017. Beautiful park near lots of nice trails. However, we won’t be staying there in rainy season again, since it is right on the river and known to flood – we learned that the hard way. Lots of fireflies at night also.
★ Abilene State Park – Tuscola, TX: Stayed May 2017. This was a quiet, peaceful park with lots of deer. We stayed an extra night because we enjoyed the serenity and trails.

For ideas on what to do in the area, check out our Texas blog posts.

Vermont

Bear’s End – Green Mountain National Forest – Shaftsbury, VT: Stayed June 2017. Peaceful, quiet and buggy! Wouldn’t suggest this one in the summer. We slept in ski masks because so many no-see-ums got inside and kept trying to go in our ears. But, hey it was free!

Virginia

Endless Caverns – New Market, VA: Stayed June 2017. Pretty pricey, but was a nice park for when we craved long showers. If you are interested in caverns, it is located next to where they do tours. There is also a pool and big game room here.


Canada

New Brunswick

Harvest Host (Farm) – St. George, New Brunswick: Stayed July 2017. Great place to stay near the small town. Walk to the nearby waterfall or take the lake trail just behind the parking lot for a relaxing stroll. There is also a small grocery store next door, in addition to the farm stand.
★ Shire Camping – New Horton, New Brunswick: Stayed July 2017. This isn’t for motorhomes bigger than ours (26ft), but it is a unique gem we really enjoyed. From the quirky home-made fire circle, to the great company of other travelers. It is one of those nights we will cherish.
Harvest Host (Winery) – Memramcook, New Brunswick: Stayed July 2017. Delicious wine and beautiful scenery. They have a large parking lot where they allow RVers to park.
Walmart – Moncton, New Brunswick: Stayed August 2017.
Kouchibouguac National Park – Kouchibouguac, New Brunswick: Stayed September 2017.
Walmart – Bathurst, New Brunswick: Stayed September 2017.
Walmart – Atholville, New Brunswick: Stayed September 2017.

For ideas on what to do in the area, check out our New Brunswick blog posts.

Newfoundland

★ Pirate’s Haven – Robinson’s, Newfoundland: Stayed July 2017. If you want a quiet place to stay, great local food, a base point for fishing or an unforgettable ATV adventure – you must stop here! Ruth & Paul are amazing hosts, tour guides, cooks and friends.
★ Berry Hill Campground – Gros Morne NP – Lobster Cove, Newfoundland: Stayed July 2017. Full hookups and very convenient to many of Gros Morne’s top attractions. It was even walking distance to a few trails and offered many interpretive programs.
Trout River Campground – Gros Morne NP – Trout River, Newfoundland: Stayed July 2017. No hookups, but great area close to the Tablelands area of Gros Morne – a must-see. Also, just a short drive from downtown Trout River which offers wonderful food and more trails.
Sir Richard Squires Memorial Pronvincial Park – Cormack, Newfoundland: Stayed July 2017. Nice enough park, but not worth the drive on the horrible road out there! Don’t do it.
★ King’s Point RV Park – King’s Point, Newfoundland: Stayed July 2017. We stayed here multiple nights and it never got busy. The views were amazing, we could walk into town for dinner, groceries or drinks, and they even had decent Wifi! There are also some beautiful hiking trails nearby, and you may even see some icebergs!
Walmart – Grand Falls-Windsor, Newfoundland: Stayed July 2017. Convenient to many stores and fairly quiet.
★ Boondocker’s Welcome – Point of Bay, Newfoundland: Stayed July 2017. We left as adopted family – enough said.
★ Oceanside boondocking spot, Durrell, Newfoundland: Stayed July 2017. Just outside Twillingate, we found the perfect spot to watch the waves and look for icebergs!
Oceanside ex-campground – Hare Bay, Newfoundland: Stayed July 2017. Buddy found this spot on a whim! He hoped the road would take us to a good boondocking spot and it ended up at an old campground with perfect pull-offs to spend the night. Locals told us the city is hoping to open it again next year.
★ Newman Sound – Terra Nova NP, Newfoundland: Stayed July 2017. Great place to keep your rig hooked up while you go exploring on foot, bike or kayak! This park is just stunning and has so many fun activities to offer.
Oceanside pull-off – Elliston, Newfoundland: Stayed July 2017. After watching the puffins for a while, we made dinner and crashed up the road in an empty lot. Perfection!
Harvest Host (Winery) – Whitbourne, Newfoundland: Stayed July 2017. This was a very quick stay, but it was quiet and dark at night – always a plus!
Chance Cove Provincial Park – Cappahayden, Newfoundland: Stayed July 2017. Free site on a dirt road with no hookups, but close to some great views. Kind of rough to get to though.
★ Celtic Rendezvous by the Sea RV Park – Tors Cove, Newfoundland: Stayed July 2017. Amazing views and reasonable prices. There is a great whale and puffin tour up the road as well.
Arena Parking Lot – Witless Bay, Newfoundland: Stayed July 2017. A last-minute decision because it was getting dark and… moose!
Walmart – Gander, Newfoundland: Stayed August 2017. Not too loud at night.
★ Point Riche Lighthouse – Port au Choix, Newfoundland: Stayed August 2017. No signs saying not to park overnight, so we stayed for the sunset… twice! This was our favorite spot and provided the best views.
Shallow Bay Campground – Gros Morne NP – Cow Head, Newfoundland: Stayed August 2017. No hookups, but easy access to the beach and nearby Cows Head town. It is a great base for northern Gros Morne adventures.
Hotel parking lot – Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland: Stayed August 2017. After getting screeched in we crashed in the parking lot because there were no signs saying we couldn’t.
Pull-off prior to Port aux Basques – Red Rocks, Newfoundland: Stayed August 2017. This is a great spot for before or after the ferry voyage. It was flat and offered amazing views! Although it was just off the highway, there wasn’t much noise at night.

For ideas on what to do in the area, check out our Newfoundland blog posts.

Nova Scotia

L.O.R.D.A. – Westville, Nova Scotia: Stayed July 2017. We loved this donation-based park and the volunteers who run it. We even got a bottle of the maple syrup they make on site.
Ainslie Village Campground – Whycocomagh, Nova Scotia: Stayed July 2017.
★ Cheticamp Campground – Cape Breton NP – Cheticamp, Nova Scotia: Stayed July 2017. Great stopping point off the Cabot Trail and close to some great trails. We also loved the Parks Canada activities that were offered throughout the week.
Walmart – North Sydney, Nova Scotia: Stayed July 2017.
Walmart – Sydney, Nova Scotia: Stayed August 2017.
Non-functioning RV Park (freecampsites.net) – Louisbourg, Nova Scotia: Stayed August 2017. This RV park wasn’t operating for the season, but a local told us it was okay to park there. No one seemed to mind us there. We got the tip online when searching for free camping in the area.
Walmart – Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia: Stayed August 2017.
Peggy’s Cove Visitor Center – Peggys Cove, Nova Scotia: Stayed August 2017. No signs saying not to park, so we crashed here in order to check out the famed spot at sunset and after dark. Very peaceful and no other campers.
★ Jeremy’s Bay Campground – Kejimkujik NP – Maitland Bridge, Nova Scotia: Stayed August 2017. Great campground with access to trails, rivers, group fire rings and lots of fun park-sponsored activities. We loved our shaded spot a few minutes from the beach.
Walmart – Greenwood, Nova Scotia: Stayed August 2017.
Harvest Host (Farm) – Wolfville, Nova Scotia: Stayed August 2017. We parked on a hill behind the store. It was peaceful at night, but we were awkwardly close to one of the “farmer’s golf” holes and it made for some stress until the store closed at 8p.m.
Graves Island Provincial Park – East Chester, Nova Scotia: Stayed August 2017. Loved this little island campground. Great views and we even got some work done in the office where free wifi is offered. Just a short drive from Halifax.
Walmart – Dartmouth, Nova Scotia: Stayed August 2017.
Walmart – New Glasgow, Nova Scotia: Stayed August 2017.

For ideas on what to do in the area, check out our Nova Scotia blog posts.

Ontario

Walmart – Goderich, Ontario: Stayed September 2017.

Prince Edward Island

Walmart – Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island: Stayed August 2017.
Red Point Provincial Park – Red Point, Prince Edward Island: Stayed August 2017. Great park with a small beach on site!
★ Cabot Beach Provincial Park – Cabot Beach, Prince Edward Island: Stayed August 2017. Perfect views of the ocean. We saw some of the best sunsets of the summer here. Plus, we were a few minutes away from the large beach. We also appreciated the wifi available at our site – but, only one password per campsite.

Quebec

Roadside Pull Off – Gaspe, Quebec: Stayed September 2017.
Roadside Pull Off – Mont-Saint-Pierre, Quebec: Stayed September 2017.
RV Overnight Parking Downtown – Quebec City, Quebec: Stayed September 2017.
Harvest Host (Winery) – L’Ange-Gardien, Quebec: Stayed September 2017.
Sanctuaire Notre-Dame-du-Cap – Trois-Rivieres, Quebec: Stayed September 2017.
Walmart – Sainte-Agathe-des-Monts, Quebec: Stayed September 2017.
Super C – Mont-Tremblant, Quebec: Stayed September 2017.
Mill Dam Park – Shawville, Quebec: Stayed September 2017.